The filelist allows centralized management of all files - especially images and graphics. The files are stored in hierarchically structured directories.
The advantage of storing files centrally is, for example, that images that are used several times only need to be uploaded once. The directory tree can be adjusted at any time. New directories and subdirectories can easily be added or existing directories and/or files can be moved.
The directory tree is shown on the left side of the screenshot. It can be designed freely, i.e. you can use it to display the pages or the page tree, but you do not have to. If another structure makes more sense to you, create the directories according to your wishes. You can also move, copy and delete the folders afterwards. Like the page tree, the directory tree can be expanded and collapsed using the arrow at the top right of the tree and, like the page tree, its width is variable. To adjust the width, move the cursor between the directory tree and the content area until a two-sided arrow appears. Then hold down the left mouse key and move the mouse to the left or right to adjust the width of the area for the tree.
By default, the files that are visible in the content area are displayed without thumbnails. For the more visual types among us, thumbnails of the files can be displayed using the Show Thumbnails checkbox. However, this can make the list a bit more confusing.
No matter in which folder you are in the directory tree, you will always see the contents of the folder in the right pane. You can collapse the directory tree like the page tree at any time by clicking on the arrow to the right of the directory tree. Above the content area, you will always see three options. By clicking on the button Up one level you will get one level up. By clicking on Upload files a window opens where you can upload files. Files can also be uploaded with drag & drop (see screenshot).
By clicking on + New you will get to a view where you can add folders and where you can also set the number of folders. The default setting for the number is 1. Furthermore, you can create new media assets via URLs. To do this, simply insert a YouTube or Vimeo link and then click on the Add media button. Text files can also be created here – but this option is rarely relevant for editors.
By default, the information about the items is shown in the file list, as it can be seen in the screenshots. If you need more information in the lists, for example, the size of the files or the height and width, you can individually activate the columns you need for your daily work.
To do that, simply click the Show Columns button and select the desired columns by clicking it. Selected/activated columns can be recognized by their green icon (see screenshot). When you have made your choice, click Update. The selected information will now be visible in the list.
You can select one or more objects at any time using the checkboxes to the left of the elements. In addition, the options Check all, Check none and Toggle selection open in the uppermost 'checkbox'. With these options it is possible to work especially fast if many objects have to be edited, for example.
Once you click a checkbox, more options appear for you to choose from. These are Edit Metadata, Download, Transfer to Clipboard, Remove from Clipboard and Delete. We will discuss the clipboard options below, as they are only usable when the clipboard is enabled. All other options are also available for individual items, but can also be used for multiple items at once, for example, to work faster and more efficiently. The following section describes the options for individual elements in more detail.
Files have different editing options depending on the file format. Four options are always visible.
- Edit Metadata of this file: You can edit the title, description and the alternative text in the default language and adjust categories here.
- Translate metadata: After clicking the icon the option to edit the metadata in another language appears. After clicking on the option the metadata will open. You can translate the title, description and alternative text and select categories.
- Show: Opens the file in a new window.
Clicking on the three dots after the visible options will open more options:
- Replace: The current file can be replaced by another file on your hard drive. If the file is used in the frontend, the new version is also immediately visible on the website.
- Edit content: This option is only available for textfiles and is not visible in the screenshot (grey button without symbol).
- Download: Downloads a single file. To download multiple files, use the checkboxes to the left of the files and then the Download option above the file list.
- Info: Opens a window in a lightbox with all information about the file e.g: Size, dimensions, filename, file type.
Folders have only one visible editing option: delete. Other options are: Rename, Download, Upload Files, Info, Copy and Cut.
Files/Folder copy or move
By activating the clipboard it appears under the filelist. There you will see different modes: a single record mode and three times a multi-selection mode. By default, the mode normal (single selection mode) is activated, with which only single objects can be copied or moved, even if the clipboard is not activated.
Single record mode
By default, the normal mode is set when you display the clipboard. This allows you to move or copy one item at a time. In normal mode, or when the clipboard is not enabled, each object can be copied or cut individually. As soon as you have chosen one of the two options, the object appears in the clipboard. If you want to cut instead of copy or vice versa, simply click the button in the clipboard for the desired action: Copy elements or Move elements.
Once you have copied or cut an element, another button with the Paste in clipboard content option will appear above the file list. This button is visible even if the clipboard is not activated but an element was copied/cut. Use it to place the element to the desired position.
If you want to remove the object from the clipboard again, you have several options in the single selection mode. First, you can use the more options of an element. When you click on the three dots next to a copied element, the Copy Release option appears instead of the Copy option. With this option you reverse the selection for copying. With a cut element you will find the Cut release option, with which you will reverse the selection to cut. These options are available even if the clipboard is not enabled. When the clipboard is enabled you can also use the Remove All or Remove object buttons.
The name already gives it away: In multiple selection mode, several objects can be moved or copied at the same time. Basically, the clipboard works in the same way in multiple selection mode as in single selection mode. When you switch to multiple selection mode, the options for copying and cutting disappear for the individual items. To move objects to the clipboard, the checkboxes to the left of the individual elements are used. Either select individual items, or use one of the following options Check all, Check none, or Toggle selection, as described earlier in this documentation.
The selected objects can then be transferred to or removed from the clipboard using the selection options.
You can also remove the elements from the clipboard. To remove a single element use the Remove item button near the corresponding element, to remove all the elements from the clipboard click the Remove all button.
Summary: Move or copy content
Would you like to know more?
All information about the available editions can be found on the webpage for our TYPO3 Website-Base. You have the possibility to get a Website at a Fixed Price or you decide for a Website as a Service package, with which no further costs for hosting or security and function updates will come up to you.